OCR

Enlarged printed character OCR (Optical Character Recognition) is the technical term for the automatic recognition of printed characters using optical rasterization (e.g. by scanners or digital cameras). Simply speaking OCR is trying to have printed text transcripted by a computer.
The father of OCR is said to be Lawrence Roberts who conducted first experiments on automatic text recognition on the MIT in 1960. First practical appliances of OCR as hardware solutions appeared in 1965. Back then the recognition was limited to specially designed fonts like OCR-A and OCR-B. In 1976 Ray Kurzweil developed the first omnifont, i.e. font independent OCR system. With increasing computer performance software-based OCR solutions have gained more and more importance since the mid-eighties.

OCR can be divided into the processing steps scanning, layout analysis, segmentation, character recognition and dictionary lookup with more and more vanishing boundaries between these steps in modern systems. Typical applications of OCR are document recognition, archiving systems and forms processing (see FormPro).

OCR

Druckzeichen stark vergrößert OCR (Optical Character Recognition = Optische Zeichenerkennung) ist der Fachbegriff für automatische Erkennung gedruckter Zeichen mittels optischer Abtastung (z.B. durch Scanner). Mit OCR kann man also das Abtippen gedruckter Texte vom PC erledigen lassen.
Als Vater der Texterfassung gilt Lawrence Roberts, der 1960 Versuche zur automatischen Erkennung von Zeichen unternahm. Erste Anwendungen der Texterfassung in der Praxis gab es bereits 1965 in Form von Hardware-Lösungen. Damals beschränkte sich die Erkennung allerdings noch auf spezielle Schriften wie OCR-A und OCR-B. 1976 entwickelte Ray Kurzweil das erste omnifonte, d.h. schriftartenunabhängige Texterfassungssystem. Mit zunehmender Leistungsfähigkeit der PCs haben seit Mitte der 80er Jahre software-basierte OCR-Lösungen immer mehr an Bedeutung hinzugewonnen.

OCR gliedert sich in die Arbeitsschritte Scannen, Layout-Analyse, Segmentierung, Merkmalserkennung und Wörterbuchabgleich, wobei bei modernen Systemen die Grenzen zwischen diesen Vorgängen immer mehr verwischen. Häufige Anwendungen von OCR sind Dokumentenerkennung (siehe OmniPage), Archivsysteme und Formularauswertung (siehe FormPro).