Character Recognition

Flatbed Scanner Character recognition comprises the automatic recognition of printed characters using optical rasterization (e.g. by scanners or digital cameras). Simply speaking character recognition is trying to have printed character transcripted by a computer.
The father of character recognition is said to be Lawrence Roberts who conducted first experiments on automatic character recognition on the MIT in 1960. First practical appliances of character recognition as hardware solutions appeared in 1965. Back then the recognition was limited to specially designed fonts like OCR-A and OCR-B. In 1976 Ray Kurzweil developed the first omnifont, i.e. font independent character recognition system. With increasing computer performance software-based character recognition solutions have gained more and more importance since the mid-eighties.

Character recognition can be divided into the processing steps scanning, layout analysis, segmentation, character recognition and dictionary lookup with more and more vanishing boundaries between these steps in modern systems. Typical applications of character recognition are document recognition, archiving systems and forms processing (see FormPro).

Zeichenerkennung

Flachbettscanner Zeichenerkennung beinhaltet die optische Erfassung und automatische Umwandlung gedruckter Zeichen in editierbaren Text. Es geht also darum, mit Zeichenerkennung oder OCR das Abschreiben gedruckter Texte vom Computer erledigen zu lassen.
Als Vater der Zeichenerkennung gilt L. Roberts, der 1960 Versuche zur automatischen Erkennung von Zeichen unternahm. Erste Anwendungen der Zeichenerkennung in der Praxis gab es bereits 1965 in Form von Hardware-Lösungen. Damals beschränkte sich die Erkennung allerdings noch auf spezielle Schriften wie OCR-A und OCR-B. 1976 entwickelte Ray Kurzweil das erste omnifonte, d.h. schriftartenunabhängige Zeichenerkennungssystem. Mit zunehmender Leistungsfähigkeit der PCs haben seit Mitte der 80er software-basierte OCR-Lösungen immer mehr an Genauigkeit und Bedeutung hinzugewonnen.

Zeichenerkennung gliedert sich in die Arbeitsschritte Scannen, Layout-Analyse, Segmentierung, Merkmalserkennung und Wörterbuchabgleich, wobei bei modernen Systemen die Grenzen zwischen diesen Vorgängen immer mehr verwischen. Häufige Anwendungen von Zeichenerkennung sind Dokumentenerkennung (siehe OmniPage), Archivsysteme und Formularauswertung (siehe FormPro).